Skip Nav
Jack Baldauf

Jack Baldauf

Professor

Executive Associate Dean and Associate Dean for Research

Geological Oceanography: Paleoceanography, Biotic Response to Climate Variability

jbaldauf@ocean.tamu.edu
Eller O&M 306B, Eller O&M 202 | (979) 845-3651


David Brooks

David Brooks

Senior Professor

Physical Oceanography: Shelf and Coastal Ecosystem Dynamics

dbrooks@ocean.tamu.edu
Eller O&M 605 | (979) 845-5527


Lisa Campbell

Lisa Campbell

Professor

William R. Bryant Chair in Oceanography; Associate Editor, Journal of Plankton Research, 2018-2021

Biological Oceanography: Phytoplankton; Harmful Algal Blooms

lisacampbell@tamu.edu
Eller O&M 911D | (979) 845-5706


Ping Chang

Ping Chang

Professor

Louis & Elizabeth Scherck Chair in Oceanography

Physical Oceanography: Climate Dynamics; Climate Modeling and Prediction; Geophysical Fluid Dynamics

ping@tamu.edu
Eller O&M 624 | (979) 845-8196


Piers Chapman

Piers Chapman

Professor

Chemical oceanography; hypoxia, ocean tracers, oil pollution

Piers.chapman@tamu.edu
Eller O&M 502 | (979) 845-9399


Steve DiMarco

Steve DiMarco

Professor

Physical Oceanography: Observing Systems

sdimarco@tamu.edu
Eller O&M 702D | (979) 862-4168


Jessica Fitzsimmons

Jessica Fitzsimmons

Assistant Professor

Chemical Oceanography: Trace Metal and Nutrient Cycling

jessfitz@tamu.edu
Eller O&M 403A | (979) 845-5137


Wilford Gardner

Wilford Gardner

Professor

Geological Oceanography: Particle Dynamics; Sediment Transport

wgardner@ocean.tamu.edu
Eller O&M 317A | (979) 845-3928


Benjamin Giese

Benjamin Giese

Professor

Physical Oceanography: Climate Change; Ocean Modeling; Data Assimilation

b-giese@tamu.edu
Eller O&M 611 | (979) 845-2306


Gerardo Gold Bouchot

Gerardo Gold Bouchot

Professor

ggold@tamu.edu
Eller O&M 625 | (979) 845-9826


Robert Hetland

Robert Hetland

Professor

Physical Oceanography: Coastal Ocean Circulation

hetland@tamu.edu
Eller O&M 618D | (979) 458-0096


Anthony Knap

Anthony Knap

Director, GERG

Professor of Oceanography

Holder of the James R. Whatley Chair in Geosciences

tknap@tamu.edu
GERG 140 | (979) 458-9328


Alejandro Orsi

Alejandro Orsi

Professor

Physical Oceanography: Climate Change; Polar Oceans; Thermohaline Circulation

aorsi@tamu.edu
Eller O&M 508 | (979) 845-4014


Colleen M. Petrik

Colleen M. Petrik

Assistant Research Professor

Biological Oceanography: biophysical modeling, fisheries, climate variability

cpetrik@tamu.edu
Eller O&M 610 | (979) 845-2680


Pamela T. Plotkin

Pamela T. Plotkin

Director of Texas Sea Grant

Associate Research Professor

Biological Oceanography: Behavior of Marine Vertebrates, Feeding Ecology

plotkin@tamu.edu
Eller O&M 306 | (979) 845-3854


Henry Potter

Henry Potter

Assistant Professor

hpotter@tamu.edu
Eller O&M 702D | (979) 845-0405


Mary Jo Richardson

Mary Jo Richardson

Professor

Regents' Professor

Geological Oceanography: Sources and Sinks of Oceanic Particles

mrichardson@ocean.tamu.edu
Eller O&M 317B | (979) 845-7966


Kathryn Shamberger

Kathryn Shamberger

Assistant Professor

Chemical Oceanography: Ocean Acidification; Seawater Carbonate Chemistry

katie.shamberger@tamu.edu
Eller O&M 911B | (979) 845-5752


Niall Slowey

Niall Slowey

Professor

Geological Oceanography: Paleoceanography; High-resolution Seafloor Mapping and Seismic Stratigraphy

slowey@ocean.tamu.edu
Eller O&M 316 | (979) 845-8478


Achim Stössel

Achim Stössel

Associate Professor

Physical Oceanography: Representation of Polar Processes in Climate Models

astoessel@ocean.tamu.edu
Eller O&M 606 | (979) 862-4170


Jason B. Sylvan

Jason B. Sylvan

Assistant Professor

Biological Oceanography: Microbial Ecology, Geomicrobiology, Deep Biosphere, Hydrocarbon Microbiology

jasonsylvan@tamu.edu
Eller O&M Bldg, Rm 716 | (979) 845-5105


Debbie Thomas

Debbie Thomas

Professor

Interim Dean, College of Geosciences

Geological Oceanography: Paleoceanography; Sediment Geochemistry; Greenhouse Climates

dthomas@ocean.tamu.edu
Eller O&M 1204 | (979) 845-3651


Daniel Thornton

Daniel Thornton

Professor

Biological Oceanography: Phytoplankton; Biogeochemistry; Aerosols

dthornton@tamu.edu
Eller O&M 521 (office is 518BA in the corner of laboratory 521) | (979) 845-4092


Kristen M. Thyng

Kristen M. Thyng

Assistant Research Professor

Physical Oceanography: coastal dynamics, numerical modeling, Lagrangian dynamics

kthyng@tamu.edu
Eller O&M 607 | (979) 845-0791


Terry Wade

Terry Wade

Deputy Director, GERG

terry@gerg.tamu.edu
Geochemical and Environmental Research Group (GERG) | (979) 862-2325


Chrissy Stover Wiederwohl

Chrissy Stover Wiederwohl

Instructional Associate Professor

Assistant Department Head for Engagement and Graduate Affairs

chrissyw@tamu.edu
Eller O&M 411A | (979) 845-7191


Shari Yvon-Lewis

Shari Yvon-Lewis

Professor

Department Head

Chemical Oceanography: Trace Gas Biogeochemistry

syvon-lewis@ocean.tamu.edu
Eller O&M 1204 | (979) 458-1816


Yige Zhang

Yige Zhang

Assistant Professor

Chemical and Geological Oceanography: Paleoclimate Change; Organic and Isotope Geochemistry

yige.zhang@tamu.edu
Eller O&M 517A | (979) 845-4978


Joint Appointed Faculty

Rainer Amon

Rainer Amon

Professor

Chemical Oceanography: Biogeochemistry, Gliders

amonr@tamug.edu
TAMU Galveston Marine Sciences | (409) 740-4719


Ayal Anis

Ayal Anis

Associate Professor

Physical Oceanography: turbulence and mixing, oceanic microstructure, boundary layers processes, air-sea interactions, coastal processes

anisa@tamug.edu
TAMU Galveston Marine Sciences | (409) 740-4987


Timothy Dellapenna

Timothy Dellapenna

Associate Professor

Geological Oceanography: Seabed Dynamics; Sediment Processes

dellapet@tamug.edu
TAMU Galveston Marine Sciences | (409) 740-4952


Patrick Louchouarn

Patrick Louchouarn

Professor

Vice President for Academic Affairs and Chief Academic Officer (TAMUG) and Associate Provost (TAMU)

Chemical Oceanography: bio, organic and environmental geochemistry, cycling of pyrogenic carbon, environmental forensics

loup@tamug.edu
TAMU Galveston Marine Sciences | (409) 740-4409


Franco Marcantonio

Franco Marcantonio

Professor

Jane and Ken R. Williams ’45 Chair in Ocean Drilling Science, Technology and Education

Radiogenic isotope geochemistry, geochemical proxies of climate change, environmental geochemistry

marcantonio@tamu.edu
Halbouty 130 | (979) 845-9240


Antonietta S. Quigg

Antonietta S. Quigg

Professor

Associate Vice President for Research & Graduate Studies

Biological Oceanography; Biotic Response to Climate Variability, Phytoplankton

quigga@tamug.edu
TAMU Galveston Marine Biology | (409) 740-4990


Gilbert Rowe

Gilbert Rowe

Regent's Professor (of Marine Biology and Oceanography)

Biological Oceanography: Food Web Modeling; Carbon Cycle

roweg@tamug.edu
TAMU Galveston Marine Biology | (409) 740-4408


Peter Santschi

Peter Santschi

Regents Professor

Chemical Oceanography: Marine and Environmental Geochemistry

santschi@tamug.edu
TAMU Galveston Marine Sciences | (409) 740-4476


Scott A. Socolofsky

Scott A. Socolofsky

Professor

Physical Oceanography: turbulence, mixing, inlet dynamics, deep ocean multiphase plumes

socolofs@tamu.edu
CE/TTI 802B | (979) 845-4517


Pete van Hengstum

Pete van Hengstum

Assistant Professor

Geological Oceanography: paleoclimate change, coastal geosciences

vanhenp@tamug.edu
Texas A&M University at Galveston | (409) 740-4919


Graduate Faculty

Karl Kaiser

Karl Kaiser

Assistant Professor

kaiserk@tamug.edu
TAMU Galveston Marine Sciences | (409) 740-4879


Hui Liu

Hui Liu

Assistant Professor

Biological Oceanography: Zooplankton, Fisheries, Population Dynamics, Climate Change, Modelling

liuh@tamug.edu
TAMU Galveston Marine Biology | (409) 740-4716


Yina Liu

Yina Liu

Associate Research Scientist

Chemical Oceanography; Organic Biogeochemistry, Atmospheric Chemistry

yinaliu@geos.tamu.edu
GERG | (979) 458-5932


Mitch Malone

Mitch Malone

Research Scientist

Assistant Director of Science Services, IODP

malone@iodp.tamu.edu
IODP | (979) 845-5218


Kyeong Park

Kyeong Park

Professor

parkk@tamug.edu
TAMU Galveston Marine Sciences | (409) 740-4710


Brendan Roark

Brendan Roark

Associate Professor

Director, Environmental Programs in Geosciences

broark@geos.tamu.edu
Eller O&M 811A | (979) 862-1775


Anja Schulze

Anja Schulze

Associate Professor

Biological Oceanography: Phylogeny; Genetics of Metazoan Animals

schulzea@tamug.edu
TAMU Galveston Marine Biology | (409) 740-4540


Geosciences TAMU Logo

Aggies can change the world. Geoscientists lead the way.